Design Amongst Disaster

Here is a creative, funny and talented duo who’s character not only can I never seem to pinpoint, but I can never seem to find the right words to describe the two.

I am sure most of you who are familiar with Flo (Mark Volman) and Eddie (Howard Kaylan), remember them from being members of        The Turtles…. BUT like anything else in life, nothing lasts forever as the Turtles found themselves yet another decedent of rock N roll music, ACCEPT oddly enough… a friendship, kinship and partnership that lead these crazy guys into…. well infamy I suppose!

 

The funny thing to ME about these guys is really their association with their career… are you ready to TRY and pick up what I am about to lay down???

If I confuse you IN ANYWAY shape or form, or leave something out let me know, because even I get a little lost with these two! 

SOOooo, after leaving the Turtles, Volman and Kaylan found themselves rendering into the musical creativity with the likes of ALSO CRAZY, all over the place and mentally distorted group of Frank Zappa‘s, the “Mothers of Invention” during the “200 Motel” era…Frank Z. also renamed the duo “The Phlorescent Leech & Eddie”. After falling short of desire and demand, Flo & Eddie incidentally, not only found a creative punch line with Zappa, but also joined Marc Bolan’s band     T. Rex for a short while!

The two funny men made this rant on navigating amongst the three musical titans seem almost effortless as they blessed many (Cooper, Blondie, Zappa, T. Rex, Lennon and more that I can’t even think of) with their rich and noble ideas, which ironically enough had become a diamond amongst stones in their musical journey. 

EVEN though I am half tempted to give you their third release “Illegal, Immoral and Fattening” released on Columbia in 1975 just because it features Marc Bolan, Frank Zappa, Lennon… BUT I PROMISE I will definitely let you hear it another day… But I am not going to because the record I give to you today, is their second release… S/T released in 1973 on Reprise as their “own” act… very talented, totally great and addictive!!!

Have fun with this one!!!

Best Part Of Breakin Up
You’re Lady
Afterglow
Another Popstar’s Life

Leave a Reply

