7 Words You Can Never Say… …

For those of you who haven’t heard the news yet, Sunday we lost not only a hero to comedy, but a man who lived to push the envelope with every opportunity that would arise!!

R.I.P. ~George Carlin 1937-2008~

I learned early yesterday morning that George Carlin died Sunday of heart failure at the age 71. It’s really sad because the last HBO special that he had performed, my husband even said “This is got to be cutting it close as far as his live performances are concerned huh…don’t ya think?”… who would have thought it would have been so soon after.Well…. now it’s his time to make the good Lord have a laugh!

Here’s a little clip of his 2008 HBO special from Trenton, NJ

When I was a kid, I wasn’t really allowed to listen to Carlin because of how sassy his mouth was, but later in life I really got into him. I know I said it a bunch of times already, but comedy was such a HUGE part of my life, and I suppose that was why when I got a bit older… I HAD to get into George, because he always had a wittiness about him that was UNCANNY.. and perpetual. A genius with words and arguments. His ability to make you question everything that you believed in and grew to know as “fact”, was nothing less then just pure relevance to open-mindedness. George knew how to “stick it to the man”, while at the same time make “the man” (who ever it may have been) feel like… he could laugh at himself, but also like he just walked out of a therapy session!… And I don’t really care what anyone says…funny man or not, George Carlin knew how to make you feel spiritually complete again!!!!

The piece I will be giving you tonight in homage to G. Carlin is off his live LP in 1972 on Little David records(my 1st G.Carlin record ever), called “Class Clown”. The following excerpt includes stints on Catholic Confessionals, Muhammad Ali, Seven words you can never say on TV… and a few more…but in any-case… laugh in remembrance of one of the smartest comedians of our time!!!!

SIDE B” of Class Clown

Leave a Reply

