Sisters of METAL!!

It truelly is a beautiful Friday afternoon. The start to this day was gloomy with promises of rain, turned out…NO RAIN and plenty of sun. So on this day I share with you, as my best girlfriend, BUNGO shares the other half of this mix over at her hot spot blog. I first met this special gal… actually RIGHT before I got married at a VERY unfortunate event and we have been friends EVER since! Normally my musical conversation usually include me and GUYS, she actually was the first girl EVER that I ever met that could throw down music, and it’s definition like myself. So needless to say we share a love affair of sorts… we don’t need to touch each other to make love, because it is the mutual muscial taste that completes the affair. I am most PROUD to have earned a women after my own heart, not only in silent conversations, mindless chadder about vinyl, but life in general. CHEERS to you… my sister… sister of METAL!!!!

Have a good time with the “bad metal”…

 Legs Diamond – “Waiting”
Released in 1978 on Mercury, these guys never cease to amaze me. Vocalist Rick Sanford’s voice(always kinda reminded me of the fluting depth of Brian Talter’s vocs from NWOBHM band Diamond Head) is powerful and fierce giving true feelings to ALL his songs, no matter how glam or gay they may have ended up being.

 Motley Crue – “Live Wire”
Talk about a guilty pleasure… The Crue has ALWAYS been a guilty pleasure for me…just because, they have the balls to wear make-up and pull off looking like a hot chick pretty well. I would definitely do them if I was a guy!!…AND as a girl.  Yah, they put a “live wire” in my pantzzzzz!!! But any way, this cut is one of their more notable hits off their first LP, “Too Fast For Love” released in 1981 on Leathur records.

 Riot – “Storming The Gates of Hell”
Ok… I know, FOR MOST… that when “Riot” is mentioned.. “Fire Down Under”, “Swords In Tequila” come to mind. BUT this is actually NYC very own “Riot”, that I came across a few years back at a record convention with my husband IN NYC. They actually look like a bunch of long haired, pickle-smooching GOmo’s, but in all reality they are totally rippin and hardcore which was completely unexpected! The cut I give to you is off their 1990 release “The Privilege of Power” on CBS records. The history and lineage of the band is kind of unclear to me… my assumption is the confusion between the two (NWOBHM-Riot, NYC-Riot).

 Manowar – “Outlaw”
I know, I know… you hate Manowar too?! Well that’s fine with me I really don’t care who likes them, because I think Manowar RULES! Infact I would go out on a limb to say the Eric Adams is ONE of heavy metals top and loudest voices. Off their 8th release, released in 1996 on Geffen records, I donate a POWER CHORD called Outlaw. “I’m a Gambler, so bet on your life… you’ll never live to grow old”

 WASP – “Hellion”
Last but not least. I give you WASP. A band that stipulated plenty of controversy, even fell victim to the prosecution of that whole Tipper Gore ordeal in the early 80’s. I guess they thought big hair, spooky clothes, satanic showmenship and the crazy howling voice of Blackie Lawless was “too” much for our “precious” children to listen to… AHH who cares what that crazy, power hungry bitch said… I like WASP merely simply because they stood the test of time and the test of our government, and still continue to rock out! This jammy that I present to you is off their second release S/T, on Capitol records released in 1984.

 

2 Responses to “Sisters of METAL!!”

  1. DNMP is the man Says:

    … I absolutely love Manowar, I saw them in PA about 2-3 years ago and they were just on fire! Keep rockin “sister of metal”

  2. Yep, I was at that show too… my husband n I got PRETTY good and tight that night!!!.. I don’t care what anyone says… Manowar (pre loin cloth days) rips!

Leave a Reply

